On that day, you must:
Notes: Vehicle must have documentation on hand:
Qualified sponsor must:
The Registry of Motor Vehicles mandates that a parent or guardian attend a special 2 hour session. This Parent Class will provide insight into what your child is learning in Driver's Education and explain the current laws. We will also explain how parents can reinforce what their children are learning as well as how they can be positive role models behind the wheel themselves. Parent classes are valid for five (5) years. Only one parent is required to attend a parent class.
Eligible teenagers who turn 16 between March 1 and June 30, 2020 can now apply for a Supervised Driving Receipt (SDR) prior to obtaining an appointment for their learner's permit. This new option provides the ability for eligible teenagers to take a learner's permit test online without coming into an RMV Service Center first to have a learner's permit application processed.
Eligible teenagers will be required to have parental/guardian consent to apply and take their learner's permit test online. An SDR carries strict requirements, allowing eligible students to practice driving only in Massachusetts with a Massachusetts driver who is at least 21 years old and has held a valid license for more than one year. Driving between the hours of midnight and 5 a.m. is prohibited.
The SDR allows an eligible teenager to complete the 40 hours of supervised driving and required six hours of driving observation. Additionally, the SDR allows eligible teenagers to complete the mandatory 12 hours of behind-the-wheel training with a certified driving education school. SDRs are valid for 90 days from the date of issuance and will only be issued through August 12, 2020.
The granting of a SDR does not does count toward the requirement for six months of clean driving to qualify for a road test, nor does it take the place of a learner's permit. A valid learner's permit is necessary to start the required six months of driving, and teens that choose to receive an SDR should ensure they make a reservation at an RMV Service Center to get their learner's permit prior to the expiration of their SDR.
While the SDR allows supervised driving for 90 days before it expires, it's important for Junior Operators to obtain their learner's permit before the SDR expiration date to continue supervised driving and start the six-month clean-driving requirement prior to taking a road test.
Teens who receive an SDR do not have to retake the learner's permit test, but must make a reservation for an in-person RMV Service Center visit and ensure they bring required identification and lawful presence documents to their RMV Service Center appointment to get their learner's permit.
During the state of emergency, in lieu of required in-car observation hours, Junior Operators in Massachusetts can complete up to six hours of supervised driving with a parent, guardian, or other individual over age 21 with a driver's license that has been valid for more than one year. The Parent/Guardian Affidavit of Completion must be signed in order for a Junior Operator to be credited with up to six hours of observation.
The RMV is adjusting the Driving School eServices Portal to allow driving schools to enter supervised driving hours once an affidavit is signed and returned. We expect this new function to be available next week.